So, When Am I Seeing You Next?

As the rain pours down heavily and I’m stuck amidst a traffic signal that just went green, I think about you, who I used to see almost every other morning while I came running between the signals to reach the other side because I was late to my office while you stand there surprised to see me again. It’s you now who I’m thinking about. I tried looking away the first time I caught you staring at me but when I started seeing you time and again, it’s me that can’t take eyes off of your big watermelon eyes that have a shield of a pair of glasses that almost cover your beautiful shy face. I now long to bump into you, for I had an opportunity of coming by you in the same bus back home twice and the last time I saw you, you weren’t wearing those spectacles and it took me a split second to identify YOU. You were dressed up in formals, an attire women lose their mind over. Your neatly ironed black shirt with grey dots paired up with light grey cargo trousers told me there was some special event which you were a major part of. To see those eyes without the mask of the glasses, was too bright to look at.

The bus was crowded. I was hanging by the edge of the door, just beside the gearbox and was hearing a hilarious conversation between a passenger and the driver which got me giggling. Every time I giggled, I felt shy to turn a look at you, because I knew your eyes would be singing a song for me. Only a while later the time decided to vacate a seat for me just beside yours. I tried hard not to turn when I saw you turning at me, I wonder what happens to all the guts when you’re not around which I feed off, saying I’m going to smile at you the next time I see you. Damn it. I overheard you talking to your friends to listen to your voice. Your laugh was like a cute kid that became happy for being pushed higher in the swing than his brother. I heard you talk about “office” so I knew you’re not a college kid I supposed you were. You are a very keep-to-yourself person as far as I read you which has drawn me immensely toward you, for I don’t know how to categorize the feeling, maybe an episode of interest toward just knowing you more as a person? 

You come across some people just for a moment and they get stuck in your head for a lifetime, and that’s how every single person you meet every day makes a difference. So when am I seeing you next, mister shy stranger?

Love,
Sowmya

 

Leave a comment